UKC

Fingerboard training

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Rachyjane 11 Dec 2016
Hi,

I'm pretty new to climbing and trying to build my strength and technique. In the last few days I've been making some attempts at fingerboard training (or just hanging off door frames if needs be) and I'm wondering how long I should be doing this for each day to see an improvement over time without risking injury?

I can currently really only hang for about 2 seconds! Pathetic I know! Is there an amount of hangs I should be doing daily or should I dedicate a certain amount of time and just do as many as I can in that time?

Thanks in advance,
Rach
 Jon Stewart 11 Dec 2016
In reply to Rachyjane:

I'm from the "don't train strength before you've got good technique" school of thinking. I reckon fingerboard training is useful only once you're bouldering about V5/6, as before that level if you gain strength out of proportion to your technique, you learn how to climb badly.
 planetmarshall 11 Dec 2016
In reply to Rachyjane:

If you're new to climbing I'd say you're barking up the wrong tree with fingerboard training. Your time would be better spent just getting mileage, at this time of year most likely bouldering.
 alx 11 Dec 2016
In reply to Rachyjane:

Climb 2-3 times a week for a year, you need the rest between trips to the wall to recover.

At this stage in your climbing the only system I would say you can beast all the time is your core.

Bouldering would certainly help your technique, strength and power development. Endurance takes 6-8weeks of training to optimise what strength you have.
 climberchristy 11 Dec 2016
In reply to Rachyjane:

As you are 'pretty new to climbing' then definitely would advise you stay away from fingerboard training and definitely not 'each day': that way injury lies. Just do plenty of mileage as others have said and build in plenty of rest days to recover and consolidate your gains. Good luck and enjoy.
Rachyjane 11 Dec 2016