UKC

Career Change

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
iusedtoclimb 21 Dec 2016
I am a fully qualified CIMA accountant late 40s and a senior manager

I fancy setting up for myself and working for myself

My options would be set up as an accounts and, small business advisor or train to be Independant Financial Advisor

Anyone done similar and taken the leap?

How did you manage the drop in income or did you set yourself up while still working as an employee

Anything I should consider?
 GreatApe 21 Dec 2016
In reply to iusedtoclimb:

Different field (I'm a linguist) and younger, but when I decided to make the move to working for myself I did it alongside my in-house position until my "side" income had been more than my salary for a few months in a row.

This wasn't particularly hard to do as in-house positions in my field are poorly paid outside of international organisations.

There were lots of long days and a few all-nighters but I just powered through and now I'm self employed there's still long days and a few all-nighters.
 summo 21 Dec 2016

A friend has just retired from a similar role and he sold his clients as a package. Whilst they aren't obliged to stay with the new owner, if the service is satisfactory I imagine most will. Bigger initial outlay, but you have an instant business, client list and income.
abseil 21 Dec 2016
In reply to GreatApe:

> ....when I decided to make the move to working for myself I did it alongside my in-house position until my "side" income had been more than my salary for a few months in a row....

I think that's an excellent idea, if it's possible for the OP to do that. In my long life so far I've seen 4 different cases happen - people [1] burn all bridges and jump in the deep end and fail, [2] burn all bridges and jump in the deep end and succeed, [3] do what you did and succeed, [4] do what you did then fail then go back to their original job.

Good luck, iusedtoclimb.
 Bob Aitken 21 Dec 2016