UKC

Sony NEX 7

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 n-stacey 29 Dec 2016
Hi

I have recently acquired a Sony NEX 7 and want to link it to my ipad (if possible).
Is there a link lead/cable (Sony or other) and what app would be best to down load for image management?
I'm new to this so please be patient.

Cheers.

N
 rallymania 29 Dec 2016
In reply to n-stacey:

i think there's a camera pack available for the ipad that lets you use a USB memory card reader (any ipad owners out there can confirm /deny?)

other than for viewing, tagging and basic manipulation i'd suggest you really want to be doing your picture editing on a computer of some sort (laptop / desktop / mac / pc etc) rather than on a tablet though.

if you are using the jpeg picture type on the camera, what ever image viewer the ipad comes with should be fine, not sure about RAW though.

not sure about controlling the camera from the ipad...
In reply to n-stacey:
> I have recently acquired a Sony NEX 7 and want to link it to my ipad (if possible).
> Is there a link lead/cable (Sony or other) and what app would be best to down load for image management?

Don't know about the Sony, but you can get card readers that you can plug into an iPad though not always directly depending on models, etc, but sometimes via 3rd party connectors. Apple do do a sd reader on a lightening connector so depends on what iPad you have then though you can get lightening to 30 pin connectors also!

What are you really wanting to do though as this may suggest an appropriate setup that someone can help out on? Is this short term backup, long term storage/catalogue them, or is it manipulating/correcting images? Are you just wanting to view onsite a larger version of the photo so you can delete/redo, etc? Or something else?