UKC

Help needed, Climbing 6000m

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jamesrlee 14 Jan 2017
Hi,
Not sure if the title is suitable but later this year in October I will be attempting Pokalde at 5806m,Island Peak at 6189m and Lobuje East at 6145m Himalayas.

this is my first attempt at a long expedition and highest summit I personally have done, I have a few questions and hopefully you guys can help me. the main one is with my boots.

I have been looking at a few boots the La Sportiva Nepal Extremes, the Lasportiva GM SM and the scarpa 6000m.

I have future plans to continue climbing in the alps and Scotland as well, so the question is would and these be suitable for what I require, it may be the case that the sportiva Gm and the scarpa 6000m may be overkill for the alps and Scotland but the Nepal's may not be good enough for my planned trip.

hopefully this is clear and hope for a response

Thanks

James
 jonnie3430 14 Jan 2017
In reply to Jamesrlee:

I've been up to 6500m in Nepal extremes in south America a few times. Warmth can be boosted by additional insoles, yeti gaiters (think there may be insulated gaiters you can get now?) and thick socks. Another tip is to make sure they are warm when you put them on, mine go in the end of my sleeping bag with my toes in them, I left them in the porch once and trying to warm them from -15 by wearing them is not recommended.

I've swapped the Nepal's for nepal cubes now and would recommend them instead.
OP Jamesrlee 14 Jan 2017
In reply to jonnie3430:
Thanks

I tried on some cubes today and I preferred them to the extremes, but from looking around some people have said they are not the best for longer trips, but with lots off things that's just another opinion, and the leaving the boots in the bottom off my sleeping bag is a tip I will remember after I left mine in the cold, I have done it ever since
Gone for good 14 Jan 2017
In reply to Jamesrlee: