UKC

Do you have the right light??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
erin_kish 23 Jan 2017
I'm a third year design student doing a brief to design lighting for outdoor activities that 'blurs the line between kit and companion'.
I do a lot of walking, skiing, snowboarding and climbing myself but rarely in the conditions where I would need a light. And so my question is...
Is there any situations which you have found yourself in where the light that you had (or didn't have) wasn't quite up to the task or could've been improved in some way? or is there something that you do frequently that could be easier with a light?

If anyone has any suggestions that would amazing!
Erin
 MG 23 Jan 2017
In reply to erin_kish:

> I'm a third year design student doing a brief to design lighting for outdoor activities that 'blurs the line between kit and companion'.

Does what!!?

Lights often get obvious things wrong, like switches that can be turned on by accident.

splat2million 23 Jan 2017
In reply to erin_kish:

Agreed, the accidental turn on is the only thing I can think of that hasn't already been designed to death on head-torches.
Not sure how you can prevent this while maintaining the ability to turn the light on or off in thick gloves or mitts though. That said my Petzl XP-something-or-other is already pretty good for this.

If you are interested in general points about things I like about my head-torches:
Low power and high power settings.
Ability to use focused or broad beam.
Rechargeable battery (I use the Petzl Core) but still able to use AAA batteries if needed (so spares can be carried).
Emergency whistle on the headband.
 PPP 23 Jan 2017
In reply to erin_kish:

Two lasers.
 MG 23 Jan 2017
In reply to erin_kish:

Rapid adjustment between helmet and no helmet size?
 GarethSL 23 Jan 2017
In reply to erin_kish: