UKC

Are you a ski instructor? Advice please...

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Hans 31 Jan 2017
Hi all

Considering signing up to a ski instructor course. I have plenty of piste skiing experience, and some limited off piste (all overseas). However my main concern is which qualification route to take. Particularly interested in the Austrian system due to my knowledge of German.

Open to other ideas on other systems throughout the world.

Cheers

H.

In reply to Hans:

I can give plenty of information on the British, Italian and French systems. Also the NZ, US and Canadian... I unfortunately have limited knowledge of the Austrian/German systems, but can ask a mate for you. It's a pretty long story, so what is it you need to know!? I suppose the main point is that the British BASI pathway has equivilence to French Moniter, Italian Maestro, Swiss Paton at it's highest Level 4. And can sometimes be converted fairly simply with a couple of day exam into these systems, or in the French case just a bit of paperwork. Regards
In reply to Hans:

Most of that is likely to change after Brexit once the free movement of EU workers and the equivalence principle is denied to UK instructors in our rush to leave...
OP Hans 01 Feb 2017
In reply to Terry James Walker:

Hi Terry

Thanks for your reply. I guess my main concern is which pathway will allow most employment in both Northern and Southern Hemispheres. BASI looks well established, as does the Canadian system. The Austrian courses are great financially but not sure if they could take me anywhere apart from German speaking parts of the EU.

All the best

H.

galpinos 01 Feb 2017
In reply to Hans:

Bearing in mind the recent Simon Butler case and BASI apparent neglect of their members and their apparent actions/decision to favour the few and disadvantage the many.