UKC

0-Ultra

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 edhawk21 01 Feb 2017
Just wanted to know opinions on if this is a silly idea or not.
Iv been running on and off for a few years now but didn't really fancy doing any of the dull road marathons out there so would the idea of doing an ultra (35miles) be out of the question if my longest run so far has been 15miles. The ultra I want to do is in June so its about 18 weeks away is that too soon? my current average weekly millage is about 26 miles couple of shorter runs in the week and a long run normally over 10 miles at the weekend.
 ChrisBrooke 01 Feb 2017
In reply to edhawk21:

I'm no expert, but (classic uninformed UKC response pending...)

I do similar mileage, about 100 miles/month, spread over about 5 runs a week (3-4 short, one long weekend run, all off road). Longest so far is about 17 miles, after which my knees were really sore. I'm slowly trying to get my body used to longer runs by getting plenty of shorter mileage in and pushing the comfort threshold higher. It takes a long time though.

So, my question would be: how do you feel after your longer runs? Could you keep going, do the same again, or are you at the comfortable limit of your knees/ankles/hips etc. I'd have thought that getting up to ultra distance without buggering your body quite badly will be a real challenge, but it totally depends on how your body responds and what you feel you're capable of.

I will watch the thread with interest as actual experienced runners give their opinions, as I'd like to get my distance up to marathon too. Speaking of which, why not a normal marathon or less distance? Edale Skyline, 9 edges, or something like that. There are lots of great long, hard running challenges that don't necessarily need to be an ultra. Obviously my interest in entirely trail, not evil roads.... your OP seems to imply you're a road runner.
OP edhawk21 01 Feb 2017
In reply to ChrisBrooke: