UKC

Personal target for this year and advice!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Barnacles 09 Mar 2017

Hey Guys.

I have decided to set myself a target this year after watching the video of the woman who was getting over her fear of falling when climbing (Posted recently on here).

Bit of background before the target and questions. I've been climbing for around 3 years, but the last 18 months have not been my most active after moving from Birmingham to Cornwall. I started of climbing indoors and have recently now in the last 12 months began to climb outdoors, although if you look at my Logbook you will see this is not a large volume of outdoors, but that is going to be changing as the weather (hopefully) improves.

So indoors my hardest lead to date is a 6a+, and top rope is a 6b/6b+. I do myself have a fear of falling, but this is also climbing above the bolts (Even indoors) and is something that I am currently working on to overcome and believe to be improving upon.

So onto my personal target.

For Outdoor Sport climbing (Of which I have done none so far...) Is to climb a 6c. I have two in mind.
The first is Warrior (6c) Which is a 6c+ according to UKC but is a 6C in the book.
The second is Boogie On Down (6c) Which is the same as above. 6c in book 6c+ on UKC.

Currently living in Cornwall these are the closest to the grade that I was able to find, but also look like great routes to really push myself.

My second target is for Trad climbing outdoors. And that is propel myself from climbing at a current VDiff, and to climb a HS/VS.

For the VS (as I live in Roche) I am looking at Porky (VS 4c)
for HS I am not 100% sure but potentially thinking of Central Groove (HS 4b) Which I know is a Multi pitch, but looks a fantastic route.

The advice I am seeking really is looking for routes that you believe would be great first climbs at these grades. preferably not too long of a drive, but i'm fairly flexible!