UKC

Best bag for bouldering?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 afx22 14 Mar 2017
I've been using the Moon Bouldering Bag for a couple of years and it's starting to fall apart (it's had plenty of use), so I'm looking at what else is available.

It's generally been pretty good but there are a few things where I think it could be improved;
- It's coming apart inside - where the internal pockets are
- The water bottle pocket is poor at retaining a water bottle. I lost a couple of bottles before adding a 'biner, so I can secure the bottle. I had to buy bottles that have a clipping point.
- It picks up mud too easily

Has anyone else found something better?

I generally carry two pairs of climbing shoes, a water bottle, one or two guidebooks, a compact shell type jacket, mini first aid kit, finger tape, one or two snacks, sunblock, a small camera and a gorillapod mini camera stand. My brushes live in the pockets of my chalk bucket.

Cheers,
 HeMa 14 Mar 2017
In reply to afx22:

Do you also carry a pad?

If yes, a nice IKEA bag stuff everything in (perhaps get the version with a zipper, or DIY). Put said bag inside the pad and you're done.

If you don't have a pad, you carry way too much (chalkbag, rug and shoes are enough... plus the downie that you wear).
OP afx22 14 Mar 2017
In reply to HeMa:

I carry one or two pads, plus a sit mat, depending on where I'm going and what I'm aiming to do. All the lot weighs 41lbs . I'm happy lugging that around.

I'd be worried about losing something (like the camera) from the Ikea bag.
 HeMa 14 Mar 2017
In reply to afx22:

> I'd be worried about losing something (like the camera) from the Ikea bag.

It's possible. Which is why use a normal (cheap) messanger bag for lunch, camera, car keys and so on. Shoes, chalk etc go in the Ikea bag and between the pad. Sometimes I just use the Ocun sitpad as it fully closes with a zipper. Though latelu our toddler has required the sitpad, so Ikea bags are again used.