UKC

Setting up as a 1:1 home Yoga instructor

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Hello.

I am thinking of setting up ad a home Yoga instructor ie. I will be teaching Yoga on a 1:1 basis at people's homes.

Do I need a qualification to do this? Do I need to register with any bodies/organisations?

Any advice will be taken into great consideration.

Sav
 Big Ger 25 Mar 2017
In reply to Mountain Spirit:

How much training in yoga do you have Sav?
In reply to Big Ger:

Hi BG.

I started Yoga when I started climbing at Craggy 2 many years ago. I'm still learning more and more asanas from YouTube.

Sav
 Dave the Rave 25 Mar 2017

You need to be smarter than the average bear!
In reply to Dave the Rave:

Very funny.
 Big Ger 25 Mar 2017

> Hi BG.I started Yoga when I started climbing at Craggy 2 many years ago.

When you say you started yoga, was that under an instructor, or self taught?
In reply to Big Ger:

It was under an instructor in a class environment.
 Big Ger 25 Mar 2017

> It was under an instructor in a class environment.

OK, are you still in touch with the instructor? If so, ask their advice as they will be able to guide you.

See also:

http://www.bwy.org.uk/
In reply to Big Ger:

No. Unfortunately I have not kept on contact with her but I knuw her name and I think I can find her contact details.

I have actually looked at the British Wheel of Yoga website.

Thanks

Sav
 Big Ger 25 Mar 2017

Thinking about it Sav, there may be a market for you in 1:1 teaching with people who have a similar disability to you, if you have the skills and knowledge to impart to them.
In reply to Big Ger:

Well....
There is a market for Yoga teachers in my area as the local council has stopped Yoga classes in the Adult Education Centres.
 Gone 26 Mar 2017