UKC

Climbing for mental wellbeing (MSc research questionnaire)

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
wwrobw 29 Mar 2017
Posted with permission of UKclimbing

Hi my name is Rob White,

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

I have been an outdoor instructor for many years and I have always believed in the positive influence of outdoor activities on peoples mental health. However I have discovered that while there is considerable anecdotal evidence to support this opinion there is little academic research in this area.

I am currently undertaking a MSc in Psychology at Manchester Metropolitan University and as part of the course I am required to undertake a research project for my Dissertation. As a result I have developed an online questionnaire to investigate this subject.

Specifically this study aims to explore the influence of the environment in which people climb (indoors or outdoors) on their mental wellbeing. If you would be interested in supporting this research please use the link below to access the questionnaire (It should take about 15 to 20 minutes to complete).

The questionnaire is a combination of questions about your climbing experience/habits and pre-existing psychological questionnaires. (Please note that some of the questions use existing, validated psychological scales. At times these can appear to be cumbersome and ask the same question in different ways, however there are reasons for this to do with data analysis.)

If you have any questions please feel free to post on this thread or to contact me on robert.p.white@stu.mmu.ac.uk

Many thanks in advance for you time and assistance.

Rob White

Link:

https://mmupsych.eu.qualtrics.com/SE/?SID=SV_8IZWn4GADLFsv1X
In reply to wwrobw:

Done, best of luck with the research
 Yanis Nayu 30 Mar 2017
In reply to wwrobw:

Done - a bit different to the usual risk-taking angle!
 pwo 30 Mar 2017
In reply to wwrobw: