UKC

Concrete screws for sport climbing

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 ruthmj 07 Apr 2017
Just curious if these are ever used to bolt crags, and if not why not? I am not sure if I have ever come across them sport climbing, but I have never looked that hard.

stp 07 Apr 2017
In reply to ruthmj:

Not entirely sure what you mean but the main bolt types for climbing are usually glue ins or some kind of expansion bolt.

If you mean screws that screw directly into the rock then I think a fear would be that constant shock loading might weaken the threads cut in the rock after a time. Then they'd get rattly and become unsafe.

I can't think any advantages either ?
 JLS 07 Apr 2017
In reply to ruthmj:

As said above, plus their load capacity isn't up to the mark deamed safe for climbing.

Rick Graham 07 Apr 2017
In reply to stp:

I work in construction and with fellow workmates often muse " how did we manage before " thunderbolts " or concrete screws. Easy and quick to fix, and removeable.

I use them for temporary fixings when bolting routes.

For permanent climbing bolts they may have the disadvantage that stp suggests of coming loose.

Also not readily available in stainless, it may be that SS is not hard enough for the cutting threads.

Personally, I think they could be ideal for short term bolt positioning on new routes.
The stress of cutting the threads will test the rock quality. The position can be changed if the first choice is not ideal, sometimes routes need to settle down if the initial rock cleaning is not 100%.
A quality SS or titanium glue in can then be used as a permanent anchor in the re drilled out hole.

The big negative to the last paragraph,of course, is that they are not climbing/PPE/CE rated.

So far I have placed them on slate and limestone.
My bolt extractor device easily pulls out 12mm though bolts.

Attempts to pull test the thunderbolts ( on slate ) have ended with a stupidly stretched Petzl hanger.