UKC

Trad skills question - Finishing a trad route

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tim saville 25 Apr 2017
Trad climbing guru's please help... and bare with me, im new to trad.
I understand the theory of trad climbing and I recognise that these areas ive skipped over are massive areas of discussion in themselves, nonetheless;
Lead route placing gear whilst climbing
Construct anchor at the top with gear
Belay up your second
Second cleans route, taking out gear
Both climbers celebrate on their success!

Here's my question if there is no other way of getting down other than back down the climb, how do both climbers get back down with all gear?
One climber gets belayed back down, with anchor and belayer at top
How does the climber at top, clean the anchor and get back down? Much like cleaning a sport anchor, threading rope through the chains.

I may just be being silly here but any advice would be greatly appreciated

RyanOsborne 25 Apr 2017
In reply to Tim saville:

When you're cragging, there's always a way to walk down.

The only reason getting down is difficult is if you do big mountain routes. Generally in the UK there'll still be a walk down, but guidebooks will usually specify the way to walk back down.

If a route involves abseiling back down you'll know about it beforehand.
OP Tim saville 25 Apr 2017
In reply to RyanOsborne:

Okay but how would you abseiling back down and clean route?
 Neil Williams 25 Apr 2017
In reply to Tim saville:
The route is cleaned by the second.

If you *had* to abseil down, you'd have to abandon gear unless there was a piece of rock shaped perfectly for putting the rope round, or someone had put an abseil stake in.
Post edited at 14:54
In reply to Neil Williams:
Right okay, thanks for answer, realise I guess its a bit of a silly question so wasn't sure if there was some magical solution to problem
Post edited at 14:58
 Skip 25 Apr 2017
In reply to RyanOsborne: