UKC

Have Petzl harnessed magic?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 CharlieMack 25 Apr 2017
Just looking at getting a new head torch, and come across the Petzl Actik.

Looking at the burn times, they state that at 5 lumens, it goes for 260 hours. Fair play. But they then go on to say if you have it running at 100, 300, or 2 lumens (on the red LED), it will go for 60 hours.

I emailed them to ask whether this was a typo on their website, but they said it isn't. I'm not an electrician, but it doesn't seem like that adds up to me? If it does, then i think i've found my new torch!
 olddirtydoggy 25 Apr 2017
In reply to CharlieMack:

It looks like a Tikka upgrade. It's an extra few grams though, 6 grams more would give me back ache. The Tikka has been my go to workhorse for years but this ,looks like a much better option. I noticed you can't control it with your mobile phone when you're away from it.
 Jack B 25 Apr 2017
In reply to CharlieMack:

Many of the newer Petzl headlamps have a light sensor and automatically adjust the output from 5-10lm up to the set level when you look at near/far objects. I have a Nao that does this and I like this feature, it preserves the battery and means you don't trash your night vision looking at the map or at your feet.

I really can't tell from their website if the Actic does this. but maybe the 60hr life is with that feature enabled - so the average light output will be rather less than 300lm?
 Aly 25 Apr 2017
In reply to CharlieMack:
Typo or not it's not true! There was a fair bit of discussion on a headtorch forum I found here:

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?428714-New-Petzl-2017-He...

I have one, on high power it will give you 300 lumens for maybe an hour or so (I've not measured it) then gradually fades, which is annoying as it states it is a regulated torch. Still a good little torch though, but how petzl aren't breaching advertising standards beats me.
 Aly 25 Apr 2017