UKC

Mountain Leader Award - advice needed!

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
jimridge88 01 May 2017
Hello all,

I'm turning 30 next year and, although the thought of which doesn't terrify me, it is something I am approaching with apprehension! I'm really not interested in having a party or getting plastered - I've decided I want to achieve something and have a great memory of doing so. The MLA is something I have always wanted to do and I figured it would be a great thing to do for my 30th as a personal experience . I love the mountains and I would say I am relatively fit as well as a generally good navigator.
My thoughts are would doing this also be a good thing to do to help for a long term career? I work as a hotel supervisor at the moment and I'm getting pretty fed up with it. The thoughts of working outdoors with like-minded people sounds great, but is there a great demand for this sort of thing? I do have the advantage of being an hour or so away from the Lakes and the Yorkshire Dales (and willing to relocate).
Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
 richprideaux 01 May 2017
In reply to jimridge88:

It's hard. Not necessarily the ML bit, but the career bit.

There are many rewarding things about working in the outdoors, but it's undeniably tough. Here's a few to get you started:

- The pay is good but the work is irregular. Around £100-£130 per day, but it may only be 75-150 days per year and most of those will be weekends. That is also gross - fuel, insurance and kit is all down to you. I suspect £15,000 p.a. is about right for a busy ML/freelancer.
- There's a lot of competition. New leaders and freelancers are entering 'the market' at a much faster rate than they are leaving at the other end, and the amount of work available can't keep up. As a business owner it's easy to find a freelance ML with 24hrs notice - it's just finding the good ones that takes a bit more effort.