UKC

Technique for beginners

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 mtnash 26 May 2017
I'm completely new to climbing having just finished a beginners course which has resulted in me being signed off to top rope and boulder at my local indoor climbing centre. I will (for now) be climbing indoors, hopefully 2-3 times per week and will be doing a mix of roped climbing and bouldering.

I've seen a lot about footwork being super important in climbing and how newcomers tend to try to pull themselves up the wall with their arms but have found very little info on how to get good footwork and technique. My concern is I'll learn bad habits which will be hard to lose.

As such, does anyone have any recommendations/suggestions/resources for technique for beginners?

I'd really like to make progress but ideally with good technique that will enable me to progress through the grades rather than as far as my arms will pull me. Oh, and if it would help reduce the chances of me injuring myself, that'd be a bonus.

Thanks in advance.
 Dandan 26 May 2017
In reply to mtnash:

Firstly, well done on trying to begin the right way, a lot of people wait 6 months to 2 years before even contemplating that there might be some technique involved in climbing, and that includes me!

Get on the YouTube and search for Niel Gresham's Masterclass, it's a series of old but good videos that will get you off to a good start. It used to be a dvd you could purchase but I'm reasonably sure it's all legitimately available online now.
In reply to Dandan:

+1 for the Gresham masterclasses, though aimed perhaps at a little higher than beginner level - particularly at overhanging routes.

Alternatively look for "The Self Coached Climber" - book and DVD combo by Hague and Hunter.