UKC

Radial head fracture post OP - when can I start climbing?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Clararocks 12 Jun 2017
Hya,
I know this is more of a Rocktalk forum kinda question, but since this is my first time on this site I don't want to register straight away.
Anyways:

I broke my right radial head about 8 weeks ago, falling on my outstretched arm while bouldering.
I had surgery ca. 2 1/2 weeks afterwards (pinned by 3 screws and an anchor for the ligament),
so it's been a bit more than 5 weeks since OP and I am back to driving the car.
I am about half way between stretching it the full 180° and 135°...
Any of you guys know how long I should wait till I can get back to climbing?

Thanks in advance,
Clara
 indigo 12 Jun 2017
In reply to Clararocks:

I think that might be one for your physio really. I had a radial head fracture some years ago - they can be nasty. I suspect it will be the soft tissue damage and stiffness that will limit your recovery. The key is getting the intensity right and keeping it low initially and being patient. It actually took me a long time to get the full range of movement back and build strength and in fact I can't quite straighten my elbow and this does affect my climbing but everybody is different. Good luck with your rehab. Mike
Clararocks 12 Jun 2017
In reply to indigo:

Yeah, I guess you're right.
Thanks, though!
Do you remember how long it took you to start again?
Clara
 indigo 13 Jun 2017
In reply to Clararocks: