UKC

Which vango tent to choose: banshee or blade?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Sido 29 Jun 2017
Hello,

I am looking for a tent for wild camping in the summer in Scotland. I am still a beginner but love my nature and hill-walking.

I'm mostly hesitating between the banshee and blade 200 (it's just for me, but allows room for my gears as it often rains). They seem affordable, light enough and weather resistant.

Any advice? Another Vango tent you think would be better?

Thank you very much!
 abr1966 29 Jun 2017
In reply to Sido:

I have a banshee 200 but don't rate it. It's ok protection wise and pitches easily but I can't get on with the side entry and am looking to get a more standard shape tent. My mate has one and he likes it though. Have a look in a go outdoors and climb in and out a few times....see what you think. My other problem is that I can't sit up in it S it's too low....I bought it for backpacking and cycle touring but now mostly I'm on the bike so getting a bigger and taller tent!
 Andypeak 29 Jun 2017
In reply to Sido:

I've got a banshee 300. Brilliant tent, been through every sort of weather you can think of without any issues. My only fault is the tiny porch
 Ron Kenyon 30 Jun 2017
In reply to Sido:

A friend of mine was using his Vango Force Ten Mark 2 on the Isle of Sandray - the other week - the tent is 43 year old (he is a bit older!).
Don't make tents like that now !
 Timmd 30 Jun 2017
In reply to Ron Kenyon:

> Don't make tents like that now !

http://www.vango.co.uk/gb/blog/49_force-ten-classic-tents.html

Technically untrue.
 sensibleken 30 Jun 2017
In reply to Sido:

I'd buy the one named after the Gaelic herald of death. Just so you can feel alive.
 Dark-Cloud 30 Jun 2017
In reply to Sido: