UKC

Highest abseil/climbs in Lancashire

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 n3p 02 Jul 2017
Hi, I've been climbing for a few years now and I enjoy abseiling. I'm a novice top-rope climber but I'm very safety conscious. I'm used to anchoring to solid hooks or some other piece of metal that has been safely placed there by a kind pro in the past. If I can't climb it I'll have fun abseiling down it.

I'm wondering what the highest abseil and climbs are in the Lancashire area. The highest I've at least attempted climbing to date is The Golden Tower at Anglezarke Quarry, Chorley, and The Prow at Wilton 1, Bolton. Does anyone know of any higher ones than these that have solid reliable anchoring points at the top please?

Kind regards,
Pete
 Trangia 02 Jul 2017
In reply to n3p:

I'm not keen on abseiling for the sake of it because it's really a means to an end rather than a sport in it's own right. It can damage routes on some types of rock, can interfere with people wanting to climb up on a crag, and statistically it is one of the more dangerous things that climbers/mountaineers do with a potential for things to go wrong.

If you really want to do more, then why not take up sea cliff climbing where abseiling is often the only means of accessing the base? Sea stack climbing where abseiling is the only means of escape or descent? Or Alpine mountaineering where abseiling is often a method of quick descent and safer than trying to down climb when time matters?

The Ivanator 02 Jul 2017
In reply to n3p:

You've placed some "solid hooks" there Monsieur Troll.
 Mark Collins 02 Jul 2017
In reply to n3p: