UKC

Rope for sports climbing Kalymnos

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 CathyJ04 09 Aug 2017
I'm relatively new to climbing and planning a trip to Kalymnos for the end of September with my boyfriend. We have a (budget end of the market) 60m Edelweiss 10mm rope which we've had for about a year and use infrequently - a mixture of indoors and outdoors.

We're going for 2 weeks and I'm wondering if really we should be taking 2 ropes rather than climb on the same one everyday?
 Dandan 09 Aug 2017
In reply to CathyJ04:

There is no harm in using the rope every day for 2 weeks, however you will be limited by its length, a lot of routes in Kaly are well over 30m in length.
An 80m rope is usually suggested to get you up (and down) 99% of routes on the island safely, however some of the longer routes will be split into 2 'pitches' with a midway lower off which means a shorter rope is still usable if you re-thread it on your way down.

If you do decide to just stick with the 60m rope, make absolutely sure there is a knot in the dead end of the rope or better yet, tie it to your rope bag so that nobody gets dropped.

Have fun!
 FreshSlate 09 Aug 2017
In reply to CathyJ04:

A 60m will get you up 80% of routes in Kalymnos, 70m more like 90%.
 climberchristy 09 Aug 2017
In reply to Dandan:

Good advice about tying knot in dead end of rope.

However to say 99% of routes in Kaly need an 80m rope is a very misleading exaggeration. I've been to Kaly twice with a 60m rope and had great trips. There are thousands of routes under 30m long. You just avoid the longer ones. I'd guess 70 to 80% of routes are under 30m.

So...to the OP... if you don't want the expense of buying a 70 or 80m then go with your 60m and just read the guide book carefully choosing those routes that are safely uder 30m long. You won't run out of routes for a very long time. But do tie a knot in the end. Personally I always tie dead end to the rope bag.