UKC

Petzl Ascenders - novice questions

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
GoneFishing111 10 Sep 2017

Im relatively new to climbing, and i have been reading about ascending ropes etc. I thought it would be a useful skill to learn, i understand how to prussik and i will practice at some point.

My question is what are the differences between the petzl ascenders?

Croll, Basic, Tibloc, Shunt, Micro traxion?

Where would you use one over the others?

I understand the Tibloc to be an emergency ascender and the shunt as an auto bloc. What about the rest? Could you use two micro traxion's to ascend a rope for instance?
Post edited at 21:23
 splat2million 10 Sep 2017
In reply to GoneFishing111:

The general differences between ascenders are size, shape, and security:
Basic and shunt (and the handle ascender) are quite big, making them easier to handle but heavier and more cumbersome to carry.
The shape of the micro-traxion is a pulley making it particularly useful for a hauling system (e.g. crevasse rescue), the others are all linear ascenders meaning the rope should be straight.
The shunt can slide down the rope as well as up, and so is more flexible but less secure (there has been an occasional accident because it slides down the rope if the device itself is grabbed during a fall). Some of the others also can theoretically fail if loaded upside down.

I use a micro-traxion in my crevasse rescue kit with prussiks and tend to carry it on mountain trad routes in case i want to ascend a rope (using the micro-traxion on the belay loop and a prussik for the leg loop).
I've not done it for a while, but when top-rope-soloing I usually use a shunt as my main ascender and back the system up with a handle ascender on a loose cows-tail on a second rope from the anchor.
I've also used a handle ascender on routes with fixed ropes on big mountains because it is easy to hold in big gloves, and easy to unclip and clip from one rope to the next.