UKC

Snowdonia climbs to S/HS avoiding the weather?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 chaotic_chris 12 Sep 2017
Hello weather in Snowdonia looks mixed this weekend and is a 5 hour drive each way so we want to get the most of it. I'm no expert in the area but might head to Tremadog but there seem limited climbs to S/HS. Pant Ifan upper tier looks ideal and Bwlch Moch good but I'm wondering if they will get really busy, especially Pant? Holyhead Mountain looks great but does it catch the weather- wind forecast N/NW? Basically all ideas welcome! Thanks to any who post. Cheers Chris
 radddogg 12 Sep 2017
In reply to chaotic_chris:

The Moelwyns is great easy multipitch, particularly Clogwyn yr Oen (Moelwyns).

If you want to avoid the worst of the weather I recommend you head to Anglesey, in particular Holyhead Mountain were you'll find some of North Wales' finest single pitch routes

The worst of the weather looks to be over by the end of Friday. Winds look much lighter at the weekend, and patchy drizzle rather than full on rain (although the ground/streams are likely to be pretty wet).

Moelwyns would be a good call as there are lots of multi-pitch routes that are still grippy if it's raining. Have a look at Clogwyn yr oen. Or if you'd prefer single pitch Craig y tonnau.

Holyhead mountain is very exposed to the weather but faces SW so should be sheltered if the wind is more Northerly.

David Jones 12 Sep 2017

Tremadog's the place. Enough at the grade to go at for a day or two as well. Betws y Coed is another possibility - sheltered, but perhaps a little damp under the trees at this time of year. I'd say that H'Head mtn might be a little draughty, even in a moderate NW breeze.