UKC

Gear Advice - Winter Trousers and Gaiter Modifications

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 atreides7887 12 Oct 2017
Hello All,

I'm relatively new to winter mountaineering having been up to Scotland for the last 2 winters and my old re-proofed waterproof trousers are finally done and need to be replaced. So far I've been wearing a baselayer, a softshell trouser and a waterproof over the top. I've got a couple of queries before I go about replacing them and was wondering if anyone could help:

1. New waterproof layer or Paramo - I've always been someone who sweats excessively and have been tempted by Paramo gear in the past, likely the idea of a 'single' layer, but never worn it. Having looked around the options appear to be the Velez Adventure Trouser or the Enduro Trouser. However, my fear is that the Enduro Trouser would be too warm. I've also read a number of bad reviews of the Velez Trouser in terms of its ability to stay dry in high wind, sitting on wet snow so I'm not convinced, however these are all pretty old reviews. has the trouser changed at all and is either model a feasible option for Scottish Winter?

2. Fitting suspenders - Assuming I get a basic pair of waterproof trousers I intend to get some suspenders fitted as I'm tall and thin and always have issues with them falling down. As I've never done this before I have no idea how this works. Do they need to be sown in or do they come with clips that can attach to the trouser waist or something?

3. Gaiter Modifications - As with the trousers, I have big feet, which means a large gaiter, but a small calf, which means it's a real struggle to get them to tighten enough. Is it possible to have them modified to shorten the calf bit so they fit better and don't slowly slide down? If it is can anyone recommend somewhere in London that can do it?

Thanks for any advice people can give.

Regards,
atreides7887
 StuMsg 12 Oct 2017
In reply to atreides7887: