UKC

Any recommendations for beginner friendly routes?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Dutchclimber1999 15 Oct 2017
Hi there,

I am looking to get into winter climbing this year. I have a lot of rock climbing experience in and outdoors happy to lead 6b, I have done the allalhinhorn, blinnenhorn and hohsandhorn, and some glacier crossings. Now I am looking to get into some "basic" winter climbing.

My questions are does anyone have any recommendations for beginner friendly routes? Does anyone know any routes close to the Aletschglacier in Switzerland?

Can anyone give me some tips for the "must have" gear comapred to summer climbing?
This year I am also planning to buy my own trad gear, what should buy first that I can use in the winter aswell? Because I am not really able to buy all the trad gear at once.

Thanks a lot
 JackM92 19 Oct 2017
In reply to Dutchclimber1999:

Additional gear - assuming you've got suitable boots, crampons and gloves...pair of tech axes.

Depends on where you're climbing and what style but maybe consider a monopoint crampon. Personally I climbed plenty at Scottish IV/V in walking crampons, it's possible but far nicer with a monopoint!

Rack wise for UK winter stuff wiresand hexes over cams, for the limited Alpine mixed on granite I've done cams have outscored wires.

Other than that without any knowledge of the area you mention I'm really not much help!
Dutchclimber1999 20 Oct 2017
In reply to JackM92:

Thanks for your reply!
Do you have any recommendations for routes anywhere in western Europe?

And does anyone know if the Grivel air tech evo is any good for easy winter climbing? I have two of them so it would safe me a lot of money that I can spend on a basic rack.

Rack wise I was thinking of getting the DMM wallnut set 1-11 and DMM torque nut set 1-4. Would this be enough to get me out and do some climbs with this?
 BnB 21 Oct 2017