UKC

Alps high bivi spots with great views?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
dannyboon8888 23 Oct 2017
Hi

Don't know if this is the right place to post this, I'm looking for some high camping spots in the alps with good views over any of the glaciers/high peaks that don't require too much technical experience to get to. Im a beginner to alpine climbing, done a lot of hill walking, wild camping and winter stuff on the munros in Scotland. Would be nice to set up somewhere near some of the more technical routes were I could catch some good shots of climbers in the landscape without actually having to do anything technical that I would need a guide for.

Thanks
 alasdair19 23 Oct 2017
In reply to dannyboon8888:

The arben bivvy hut above zermatt has superb views of the n face of the matterhorn
dannyboon8888 23 Oct 2017
In reply to alasdair19:

Will have a look into that one, Thanks mate
 MG 23 Oct 2017
In reply to alasdair19:

Particularly fine from toilet as I recall!
 tjekel 24 Oct 2017
In reply to MG: concerning toilet views ... the old gouter hut had a wonderful ice traverse, depending on conditions, to reach the toilet. Perfect view down the slope ...

Pete Houghton 24 Oct 2017

A short walk from the top of the Aiguille du Midi along the ridge towards the Aiguille du Plan brings you to the top of the Tournier Spur, and a wide, flat platform of rock that comfortably sleeps many people. If you are lucky you might see some monsters climbing on the rarely-visited west face of the Plan, but real appeal is the sunset view you'll get.
This is a glacier approach for exactly 1km, but there are no real technical difficulties to speak of.

Remember a lovely bivi by the Courvercle hut [sp] fine views of Mont Blanc and a big leaning boulder to kip under. Many years ago mind!
 Mark Haward 24 Oct 2017