UKC

Music at the crag

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 davidrblakeman 29 Oct 2017
I have been climbing for many years now and have enjoyed music down the indoor wall, at home and while traveling to the crag..

But recently while climbing outside at the cuttings on Portland I was surrounded by several loud Bluetooth speakers. I found it really antisocial and distracting. Even though some of the music was my taste.

I wonder what people's opinions are on this....

Should I have said something or stopped being a grumpy old man and let tunes pump out!

( Not sure I can stop being a grumpy old man :-p)

duchessofmalfi 29 Oct 2017
My opinion is that it is bloody antisocial.

The soundscape is part of the environment and occupying it with unnecessary, unwanted and waste noise is aural littering.

If there is no one else in ear shot then fair game but as soon as someone is in ear shot (and that means anyone in the remote vicinity, chance happening that people might be walking by etc) shut if off, because annoying sound really travels -- it is rude and antisocial not to -- put headphones on if you must.

My experience is that boulders and especially sport climbers seem to be prone to this ill-behaviour, I don't ever recall trad climbers with boomboxes.

baron 29 Oct 2017
In reply to duchessofmalfi:

You're about to be bombarded with tales of trad climbers, gramaphones and transistor radios!
 danm 29 Oct 2017

> My experience is that boulders and especially sport climbers seem to be prone to this ill-behaviour, I don't ever recall trad climbers with boomboxes.

You were on for a 10/10 until you blew it with that last sentence.

Personally, I'm looking forward to crushing some problems in the Peaks this afternoon, I just need to find my mini-rig first.
Andy Gamisou 29 Oct 2017
In reply to davidrblakeman:

> ( Not sure I can stop being a grumpy old man :-p)