UKC

Hiking Boots/Shoes NO HOOKS

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Maz83x 02 Nov 2017
HI.
I am a newbie who really wants to start hiking regularly. I plan on going on weekends and am looking for places around Greater Manchester or surrounding. I'm starting 'small'
I really dislike boots that have hooks for laces at the top. I have had several in the past, all different makes, etc. I must be a total clutz or I have something up with the way I walk because I trip myself up with them :/ The amount of times I have landed flat on my face with them on FLAT ground is diabolical. Lol.
Can you recommend any shoes/boots (that do not have hooks for laces) for hiking approx 10-20 miles a week?
Something that doesn't cost the earth.
I would really appreciate any help.
Thank You.
 oldie 02 Nov 2017
In reply to Maz83x:

My son is a teacher and after one of his students caught feet together and broke an arm he advised everyone to hammer/bend hooks down so they are not protruding.
Personally I wouldn't do this as I think hooks would be weakened. If catching a lace loop on hook of opposite boot is likely I tie lace as normal then tie a free end round the loops so they both point away from inner side of boot (other methods should work, also gaiters).

Apologies for not actually answering your question, but if you go just for boots without laces you may limit your choice (and probably price range).
 Mal Grey 02 Nov 2017
In reply to Maz83x:

Can't really help you on the hooks thing, as they are there for a reason - to save you having to re-thread through holes every time you take the boots on and off. They also grip the lace well, helping stop your heel move. I can't think of any actual walking boots without hooks, though they may well exist. Other footwear may not use them, and may be suitable, or not, for hill use.

If my laces are too long, I just tuck the loops/ends back through the cross laces lower down.