/ Welfare Abuse: Paradise Papers

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Shani - on 05 Nov 2017
I'm annoyed at welfare abuse and we need to clamp down on it.

The Appleby/Paradise papers suggest that the Queen really is biting the hand that feeds her.

Where does she think the money comes from to house, heal, educate, feed, and clothe her, her family, her military, and, her subjects?
summo on 05 Nov 2017
In reply to Shani:

> Where does she think the money comes from

Doesn't she get 15% of the profit the royal estate makes, the other 85% goes to the treasury?
BnB - on 05 Nov 2017
In reply to Shani:

It appears that over 12 years ago a paltry 2% of her wealth was invested offshore. I'm not a proponent of tax evasion but don't you think the indignation is rather overblown, particularly when you reflect that the mood was very different then?
Timmd on 05 Nov 2017
In reply to BnB:
> It appears that over 12 years ago a paltry 2% of her wealth was invested offshore. I'm not a proponent of tax evasion but don't you think the indignation is rather overblown, particularly when you reflect that the mood was very different then?

Can a principle on something like this be proportional?

If lots of people only invest a little bit of their total wealth offshore, it starts to add up, too.

In short, I don't agree. ;-)
Post edited at 19:55
summo on 05 Nov 2017
In reply to Timmd:
Selective tax dodging morals...? The estate invested £10m in total, in two different funds. The amount of tax the treasury was deprived of would been much less.

Amazon annually turns over £17-19billion and has recently paid a just £15m profit... There are plenty other Amazon like companies, celebrities etc..

Better to perhaps chase the big fish. Despite being the queen she is a minnow in this lake.
Post edited at 20:04
Timmd on 05 Nov 2017
In reply to summo: