UKC

Twin roping

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 harry 600 14 Nov 2017
Hi guys,
I’m an instructor at a small Climbing wall, I have two clients who want to lead (twin rope) with one, single rope. I have given them my opinion but they want to hear from other climbers.

Please let me know what you think.
 John Kelly 14 Nov 2017
In reply to harry 600:

Tell em they can't, need 2 twins
In reply to harry 600:

Assuming you mean indoor lead climbing, what are your/their concerns about their system?

If one part of the (single rated) rope runs, unhindered, from belayer through belay device and a set of bolts to a safe knot on the climber, that should be safe, whatever happens to the second part of the rope.
 John Kelly 14 Nov 2017
In reply to Ron Rees Davies:

Have I misunderstood, I think they want to lead on a rope only rated as a twin and at a wall you shouldnt
 Greasy Prusiks 14 Nov 2017
In reply to harry 600:

Do you mean they want to tie into both ends of a single then use it as a double?
In reply to John Kelly:

I'm not certain. OP needs to clarify.

Allowing lead climbing on a single strand of half/twin rated rope wouldn't be a good idea, from an insurance point of view even if not a real risk.

Tying in to both ends of a half rope and using it as if it was 2 half ropes of the same colour should still be fine, just a bit more stretchy than a single so more care needed until after 2nd bolt.

Tying in to both ends of a single rope and clipping 2 sets of bolts should be fine, but could be more painful if both ropes come tight at the same time..
 AlanLittle 14 Nov 2017
In reply to harry 600:
You need to be clearer about what you mean by

> lead (twin rope) with one, single rope

You mean lead on a doubled single rope clipping it as a twin, i.e. both strands into every quickdraw? Why on earth do they want to do that?