UKC

Photography Guiding and Tutoring

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 CragRat11 23 Nov 2017
I am considering setting up as a photography guide/mountain guide/teacher and want to hear people's thoughts on this as a concept. If you have some time to comment I'd be very grateful. It's a bit of soft touch market research I guess.

I'd rather stay anonymous but to give you a bit of background: I'm an established filmmaker working in the outdoor/adventure industry and keen photographer (the money comes from film though). I'm also a qualified teacher working part time in post 16 education teaching creative process, particularely in film and photography. Although I'm not hugely experienced compared to many mountain guides I have spent a lot of time in the hills, know them well and studied aspects of leadership at degree level and have worked in mountains and remote locations with a camera since then. The business I hope to set up would be a more flexible, adventurous replacement for the institution based teaching work I do week to week. I wanna get out!

So I'm keen to know if budding photographers out there would be interested in this as a way to develop their skills whilst being guided to interesting and wild locations. I can teach creative process, framing and composition, settings, and even industry knowledge whilst taking groups or individuals out.

So do you think there is a market for this?

If you were interested, what do you think is a fair amount for a day of guiding?

Are there any other services that could be offered to make the experience more relevant/fulfilling/worthwhile?

Although I would be keen to run some international trips, family commitments mean it's best for me to work locally. Are experiences like this relevant in your local area, or neighbouring mountainous areas of the UK?

Do you know of anyone offering similar experiences that you could point me to?