UKC

How to spend a summer climbing rocks

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Jaomes 03 Jan 2018
I'm a student and will have round 3 months (June - Sept) off this summer with virtually zero commitments (and zero money!!). I regularly enjoy trad/sport/bouldering and my aim is to spend as much of summer as possible climbing outdoors.

Current thoughts are:
- A job at some kind of summer camp (UK or abroad) with nearby crags.
- Standard bar job or something similar in the lakes/wales.

Does anyone have any experience doing something similar or any general ideas? No clue how the above would work out but its worth a try right?

Thanks
 balmybaldwin 03 Jan 2018
In reply to Jaomes:
Do you have a van you can use for sleeping in? if so you could maybe advertise as "Man & Van" in whatever areas, and then live dirtbag style in the van & climb when not working

Edit: plenty of summer bar jobs about around cornwall if you get one before all the students get back
Post edited at 18:09
OP Jaomes 03 Jan 2018
In reply to balmybaldwin:

Liking the man with a van idea, don't have a van but can drive so there's that.
Didnt think about Cornwall, its a good shout though, like you say there'll be plenty of summer touristy jobs going.
 tradisrad 03 Jan 2018
In reply to Jaomes:
Join the Army Reserve! Then spend the rest of the summer somewhere nice I.E. the Alps.

Pass basic training and you'll have £2300 for just under a month of work (including a £300 signing up bonus). You'll also receive a nice tax free bounty of £444 for completing your training commitment for the year.

As a plus you'll also have something more interesting than 'bar work' to put on your CV when it comes to the job hunt.
Post edited at 19:00
 Kevster 03 Jan 2018
In reply to Jaomes:

I'd be selfish and go abroad. You could volunteer at a hostel, or TEFL in Asia etc. But if it's climbing you really want, then just go and be a bum somewhere where you stand a chance of finding partners.