UKC

Distance Learning Degrees

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 balmybaldwin 25 Jan 2018

I'm considering doing another degree - Part time while working.

Now to me the obvious choice is the open university, however they don't really do a course specific enough for what I think I want to do - Zoology. They do however have an interesting looking Natural Sciences course with optional modules.

So I had a google for other providers, some of which are attached to "proper Universities" and others not (and the prices for studying are in some cases eye watering). So I was interested in others experiences/recommendations of colleges/institution

SAF 25 Jan 2018
In reply to balmybaldwin:

I did an OU degree a few years ago, and a brick and mortar degree about 10 years before that. 

The OU degree was well structured, thorough, and suited my learning style.  The learning material and therefore the teaching is always written by leaders in their field (as published books), and they are good at using computers and media to mix up the way it is delivered.  Assessment was thorough.  I had a much better experience with the OU than at a bricks and mortar uni, I could go at my own pace, take my time where needed and rush through stuff that was easy or that I already knew, compared to sitting in lectures covering a subject at the pace someone else has chosen to deliver it. 

However, I was single at the time, studying on top of a full time job, and it did get quite lonely when the workload was high.  It requires discipline and planning to get it done, and you obviously have to motivate yourself.  It is also a lot more expensive now than a few years ago, which is a massive shame.

Good luck with what you choose.

Post edited at 21:30
 Pbob 25 Jan 2018