UKC

New Climbing Shoes

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Sp00ked27 30 Jan 2018

Hi guys, I've been climbing for about 3 years now and I have recently bought a pair of Five Ten Hiangles (Leather). They have worn out after a few months of climbing in them which sucks so I'm sending them back but I was wondering whether anybody has had similar quality issues with the synthetic versions? I love the performance of the shoe because I'm quite a heavy climber (around 95kg) but I just wouldn't trust the quality on the leather shoes again. 

Also, if anyone has any suggestions for a performance bouldering/sport climbing shoe that has good edging and sticky rubber I'm all ears! I've been looking at the tenaya tarifa's and the evolv nexxo's but I'm unsure of what to try. Mainly climb on grit and sandstone. 

Apologise for the massive message. 

Cheers, 

Luke. 

alx 30 Jan 2018
In reply to Sp00ked27:

Hi Spooked.

I am the same weight as you, Scarpa and La Sportiva brands seem to last the longest. 5.10 quality control seems variable..

Check out the Scarpa Instict VS, La Sportiva Miura VS or Solution they give a good balance between toe picking, hooking and robust construction. The Genius are great on grit but the thin rubber means they don’t stand up to hard indoor use.

justdoit 30 Jan 2018
In reply to Sp00ked27:

scarpa !! really well made shoes, and also very good at edging, instincts, vapour, boostic 

Mark Kemball 30 Jan 2018
In reply to Sp00ked27:

How and where have they worn? Depending on the amount of use and how you climb, a few months could be reasonable.

Lord_ash2000 30 Jan 2018
In reply to Sp00ked27:

I've just about worn out my LaSportiva Solutions after about a year of use, bouldeing 3 times a week, almost every week. They normally last about 9 months for me at that rate but these just kept going. Can't complain about them really.