UKC

Rock climbing: Risk perception across climbing disciplines

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Richardsmith26 31 Jan 2018

Hi,

I'm a student at the University of Cumbria conducting research for my dissertation. The topic is perceived risk across different rock climbing disciplines.

My questionnaire is linked below, included is an information sheet that gives more detail into my research and how your answers will be used. 

I would be grateful if you could take 5 minutes to complete this questionnaire. 'Posted with permission of UKClimbing'

https://cumbria.onlinesurveys.ac.uk/risk-perception

Thank you for your time,

Richard Smith

Post edited at 15:58
 tradisrad 31 Jan 2018
In reply to Richardsmith26:

Might be harder to quantify I suppose - but the survey seems to pigeon hole climbers into a few selective disciplines. The absence of ice, winter, alpine and mountaineering are notable. 

DaveHK 31 Jan 2018

> The topic is perceived risk across different climbing disciplines.

It's actually only about rock climbing disciplines so no point in anyone who mainly winter climbs etc trying to complete it.

This is clear on the survey but not in the post above.

Post edited at 15:55
 Doug 31 Jan 2018

As already said, you omit winter & alpine climbing, and although you have bouldering, you don't have a category for soloing - I assume 'trad' means roped climbing. Also surprised you don't split 'trad', at least in single /multi-pitch, but also lowland/mountain/seacliff - at least for me, there's a big difference (at least in perception) in climbing on a small roadside crag compared to a seacliff accessible only by abseil or a remote Scottish mountain crag

Michael Gordon 31 Jan 2018

Done, however the last question makes no sense at all!

Useless.

I did have an open mind but this survey maintains the low standard we are now used to here.