UKC

Small Moonboard - will it work.

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
nickmurph 18 Feb 2018

Hi,

I am thinking of building a moonboard in a small barn/shack behind my house. Any way I look at it, the place is "just" too small. Using the standard 40 degree angle and 37cm base board I only get 280cm length of board rather than 360 that the standard design gives you. 

Will this be a practical bouldering surface? The next problem would be finding/designing routes for the shorter surface. Being a novice I would like to take advantage of the standard routes ... so If the answer is yes it would still be worth while could anyone suggest a source of shorter routes

Many Thanks Nick

Greasy Prusiks 18 Feb 2018
In reply to nickmurph:

In my honest opinion, no it won't work very well. The benefit of moon boards is because they're all identical you can share routes etc, if you chop the top off you'll loose all of that.

I'd design your own wall, that way you can tailor the angle and holds then just get cracking on setting your own routes. 

Jon Stewart 18 Feb 2018
In reply to nickmurph:

Surely it would be a whole lot better just to let the space dictate the bouldering surface and forget the branded shite?

thepodge 19 Feb 2018
In reply to nickmurph:

If it has to be moon and it has to be that size then I'd just make the space between all the holds just a bit smaller so you still have a full board. 

It'll still work and you'll still be able to use all their problems they'll just be easier. 

Tomtom 19 Feb 2018
In reply to nickmurph:

Have you used a moonboard? Or any 40deg board for that matter. If you are a novice, I'd be surprised if you have had much success on one. 

Moon boards are awesome, but you'll get just as much gain from a more bespoke board, especially when you don't actually have space for the moon board.