UKC

King's Trail - Northern Sweden

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Zack 05 Mar 2018

Hi all,

Considering a weeks trip along Kings Trail - Abisko to Kebnekaise - mid March this year, and welcoming all advice.  (I've seen the ski or snowshoe thread from a while back, but not much of a skier - a Frenchman described my pisted skiing as "celtic - fearless but with no technique", and I have no XC experience...)

In particular, I was wondering about the huts:

(1) Are these huts manned / do you require a key to gain entry (which I hear is the Norwegian style)? I would be too late to join and receive STF membership in the post. As such, I'm assuming I can join in-person at the first hut (STF website suggests so), although I also assume this requires a guardian to issue a card, and to let me enter the first hut.

(2) Is it fair to assume there will be space in the huts, or do people recommend booking in advance? (Might be difficult given the above.)

(3) To minimise pack weight I was hoping to purchase food (at presumably inflated hut prices) - is this possible to do each day?

Any knowledge on the above, or general advice, gratefully received and considered. Thanks

Niblet 05 Mar 2018
In reply to Zack:

All the huts are manned. When I went a couple of years ago you could become a member in any hut and get a temporary membership card, I presume it's still the same. You can't book in advance but everyone are guaranteed somewhere to sleep, if there's too many people you might get a mattress on the floor though. There are a few huts that don't sell anything, but they're spread out so at most you'll have to carry a day's worth of food.

It's a gorgeous stretch, I highly recommend it, although I've only seen it in the summer.

TobyA 05 Mar 2018
In reply to Zack: