UKC

Climbing/outdoor trousers for cyclists legs?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.

Hi, I’m new to climbing but not sports in general. I have done a lot of cycling and weights in the past, which means my legs are big in comparison to my waist size.

Looking to get outdoors with a club rather than just practicing at the local wall. Any recommendations for outdoor/climbing trousers for those with chunky legs?

I’ve got a 32-33 inch waist and had to get a medium DMM renegade harness to fit. Tried on the outdoor trousers in decathlon, no joy as they were far too small even going up sizes.

Siward 19 Apr 2018
In reply to Northern_Monkey:

I can't give you any specific recommendations I'm afraid, but I'd investigate American brands rather than skinny European stuff. Yankees aren't known for their stick like legs. Patagonia?

TobyA 19 Apr 2018

I'm similar, Decathlon isn't great for my legs, too skinny. ImI not massive round the waist but often wear 34 jeans too get them over my thighs and bum. I've got Patagonia, Marmot and Haglof troos from down the years. They're all ok.

IPPurewater 19 Apr 2018

I use various Craghoppers trousers for the same reason - large cyclist's legs. Do you have a Go Outdoors or similar store near you ? They usually stock a good selection you can try on.

benp1 19 Apr 2018

Cycling is my main hobby and I've generally found Haglofs troos to be good (I have 4 pairs). I'm tall as well and their long length is good

Prof. Outdoors 19 Apr 2018

I am a fellow cyclist and ex-runner and I find that Decathlon trousers are excellent value but I find I have to size up to get them to fit me.

Craghoppers used to be good. Unfortunately they are very tight around the crotch area and restrict movement. Wish I could boast that was down to my "physique" but actually the cut is OK for walking but very poor for climbing. Their quality has also gone caving!