UKC

Top rope anchor: Static rope or sling??

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
RobinsonJ0512 03 Jun 2018

Hey, 

So i've been climbing indoors for about a year now and i've finally decided to take it outside. 

I've never had to set up a top rope anchor before - I was just wondering what are the advantages / disadvantages to using a sling or lenth of static rope to do so? Or is it a matter of personal prefrences?? I've seen both used and wasnt sure why you'd pick one over the other. 

Sorry complete Noob Q i know. 

Tanks in advance! 

Pete Houghton 03 Jun 2018
In reply to RobinsonJ0512:

It depends what you are stringing together to make your anchor... I've been happy with a single sling wrapped around a rock before, sometimes I've tied up three (or more) trees with a 30m static rope. As long as the finished product is bombproof, it doesn't really matter what systems and tools you use, and there are often many ways to build a safe anchor out of one single location. What matters is being able to work with what you are given, and making sure that whatever setup you use, it is completely safe. There might be a few Newtons difference either way between your ropes and slings depending on how you use them, whether they are knotted or not, if there are extra bits of metal linking everything... but as long as each piece in your finished anchor is good enough, then those few Newtons shouldn't matter, because you'll be so far inside their maximum working limit.

If you are just starting out with climbing outdoors... find someone knowledgeable to help you build your first few anchors. Don't just wing it.

Tricadam 03 Jun 2018
In reply to Pete Houghton: