UKC

Fingerboard training isn't working

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Liamhutch89 06 Jun 2018

I've been fingerboarding for 3 months on a transgression board doing 3 to 4 max hangs (10s) on the largest (18mm) edge with added weight (10kg), as proposed by Eva Lopez and others. These have typically been performed Mon, weds, Fri after a 10 minute warm up and always after a rest day.

During this period my diet has been excellent as it always has been, weight has remained within 2lbs variance, sleep has been good, stress levels low (doesn't sound like I should have much to complain about on paper!), but the progress on the fingerboard has been precisely zero. I note my hang times in my phone and it's always along the lines of 

9 9 8 7

9 8 8 7

10 9 8 8

9 8 7 8

Etc...

My goal was to get to 10 10 10 10 then add more weight. But no progress has been made in 3 months. 

I have around 3 years climbing experience, boulder v6/v7 ish indoors, sport climbing outside mainly at 7b/7b+ ish. Any ideas? 

Stone Idle 06 Jun 2018
In reply to Liamhutch89:

3 months is not that long but try cutting the weight, get to ten all round then start adding small weights, say 2kg increments each week back to 10 kg. Is your climbing ok, which is the crucial bit?

slab_happy 06 Jun 2018
In reply to Liamhutch89:

Well, Eva Lopez's protocol involves a hang for 10 seconds where your absolute maximum (the point you'd fail at) would be 13 seconds, meaning you stop significantly short of failure.

http://en-eva-lopez.blogspot.com/2018/05/fingerboard-training-guide-II-Maxh...

Whereas you seem to be training to failure on all hangs.

The plural of anecdote is not data, but I found training to failure on max hangs produced the same total lack of progress for me.