UKC

Peak District - Late June

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Removed User 09 Jun 2018

I'm from Canada looking for the full Peak District experience in late June.  Picked up the Rockfax guidebook for the area and have been looking at the various areas doing my research for our group.  We have a wide swathe of experience levels, with some new climbers and myself who's a little more experienced (V4/V5).

Is Stanage our best bet? Any recommendations on some climbs I should check off (there's so many climbs..)? I'm looking for problems that might be particularly unique to the area/rock type considering it's my first time on gritstone.

Thanks.

In reply to Removed Userdwji:

Just bouldering or trad climbing too?

Removed User 10 Jun 2018
In reply to idiotproof (Buxton MC):

Just bouldering.

As much as I'd love to get some trad in, none of the others are able and I don't own much gear.

tehmarks 10 Jun 2018

> As much as I'd love to get some trad in, none of the others are able and I don't own much gear.

Leave them to their own devices for a day and find yourself a partner on here?

dilatory 10 Jun 2018

The Burbage South circuit will be a good day for all imo. 

slab_happy 10 Jun 2018
In reply to dilatory:

Seconded. If you've got new climbers in your group, Stanage Planation wouldn't necessarily be the best place to start, IMHO; a lot of the best lines are quite high.

Burbage South Valley boulders have loads of easy stuff for getting the feel of grit, generally all short and with good landings. If folks want harder stuff (and/or need to hide from excessive heat and sunshine), you can venture uphill to the Oak Grove boulders and the problems along the edge.

And I'm sure you could find a partner for a day on here if you wanted to get some trad in as well.

Offwidth 10 Jun 2018