UKC

Black Diamond ATC Pilot

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 balandino_dd 03 Jul 2018

Hi guys,

I'm not an expert at all, so please if I'm saying something that does not make sense let me know. I won't be offended at all!
I just got the latest Black Diamond ATC Pilot. By reading the instructions, it emerges that the lower part, made of plastic, might break the device by dropping it or walking on it.

Of course, we do take care of our gear, but what if somehow there is a sudden force applied on the bottom part of the device? Would that brake it? If it can break by dropping, it could break easier after loading it suddenly. No?

Of course, I’m sure Black Diamond tested it in different ways and loads. And they made sure this won't happen. However, that warning in the instructions puts some doubts in my mind. What's your opinion? Is it only me thinking this?

Meanwhile, I wrote to Black Diamond, and I'll keep you posted. Following links to the device and the instructions.

- ATC Pilot: https://eu.blackdiamondequipment.com/en_GB/climbing-belay-rappel/big-air-pi... - Instructions: https://eu.blackdiamondequipment.com/on/demandware.static/-/Sites-bdel/defa...

Cheers, Balandino.

Post edited at 07:13
 jezb1 03 Jul 2018
In reply to balandino_dd:

The plastic bit doesn’t take any load in a fall so I wouldn’t worry.

OP balandino_dd 03 Jul 2018
In reply to jezb1:

Hi jezb1, thanks for answering, I though the same.

What in case the fall is not caught soon enough and there is a sudden shift of the ATC upwards? Usually in tubular devices is a still cable stopping this, which I guess it's stronger than plastic. Would this force that strong to break the plastic bit? An so, make the belay device not function properly?

MischaHY 03 Jul 2018

I think you're visualising the lock process wrong - when the device locks, it moves downwards, bringing the steel against the carabiner. This will happen even if the fall is sudden and unexpected.