UKC

Font - Van Contents Safety?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Tradical 08 Aug 2018

Hi all,

We're going to the Picos de Europa (Spain) for a caving expedition in a few weeks, and we're spending the week prior driving down through France, so we're currently planning which climbing locations to visit.

I'd love to go back to Font having spent a month there some years back, but I have been told that leaving things in vans is quite risky these days.

If we were just bouldering and therefore taking pads, shoes, camera etc out of the van every day I wouldn't be worried, but we'll have all our caving gear, laptops, camping gear etc left in there! ££££

What are people's experience with this, positive/negative?

We don't mind going to some of the less "honeypot" areas if required.

Thanks

Pedro50 08 Aug 2018
In reply to Tradical:

Just not worth the risk IMHO. 

Trangia 08 Aug 2018
In reply to Tradical:

I've had no recent experience but over the past 20/30 years have been on trips where other climbers' cars/vans have been broken into and contents stolen. Being so close to Paris it's long been a relatively high risk area from gangs who prey on both the car parks and lone vehicles parked up near the rocks and campsites. I was speaking to a French policeman a few years back who told me that a car park the size of that at JA Martin could be cleared very quickly by these professional gangs who would arrive in a van (number plates concealed or false), park near the exit with engine running and then smash the windscreens/windows of parked cars, sweep the contents into plastic bin bags, throw them into their van and be gone all in under 2 minutes. They didn't care about the noise made by smashing glass or car alarms and would be long gone by the time any climbers on the rocks reacted.