UKC

Primaloft belay parka & compression

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Matsuzen 01 Sep 2018

Hello,

I am trying to decide which belay parka to buy for next winter and I am tempted with the Outdoor Research Perch belay parka. The insulation is Primaloft gold. I've read that Primaloft loses it's loft quickly when compressed. Can anyone give me more information about that or about the jacket in particular if someone has ever used it? Can I still expect to be able to use it for a long time?

Thanks.

Dave Cundy 01 Sep 2018
In reply to Matsuzen:

I can't comment on Primaloft but i have some experience of Climashield insulation, which may be of some help.  I made a camping quilt using Climashield Apex 100 and it started life being 19 mm thick.  After two weeks use (i.e. being compressed to 10% of the lofted volume  fourteen times), I measured its thickness as being 15 mm (approximately).

That works out as a 1.5% loss of loft, each time you stuff it into its sack.  Extrapolating that to a month's use, you might expect synthetic insulation to be half the original thickness, or only half as warm.

rgold 02 Sep 2018
In reply to Dave Cundy:

> I can't comment on Primaloft but i have some experience of Climashield insulation, which may be of some help.  I made a camping quilt using Climashield Apex 100 and it started life being 19 mm thick.  After two weeks use (i.e. being compressed to 10% of the lofted volume  fourteen times), I measured its thickness as being 15 mm (approximately).

> That works out as a 1.5% loss of loft, each time you stuff it into its sack.  Extrapolating that to a month's use, you might expect synthetic insulation to be half the original thickness, or only half as warm.