UKC

Scotland - moving outdoors

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Reedie 18 Sep 2018

Hi folks,

I have been climbing indoors for about 6 months and would love to try some outdoor climbing. 

Any advice for how to get experience outdoors? I don’t come across many meet ups that cater for first time and not even found anywhere can pay to go on organised trips. 

Thanks!  

Rigid Raider 18 Sep 2018
In reply to Reedie:

Glenmore Lodge?

In reply to Reedie:

Get in touch with a qualified SPA/RCI or MIA/MIC and ask for an intro to outdoor trad climbing. 

Someone like Alan Halewood, Max Hunter or Ken Applegate would be a good start as they are all based around Fort William. 

Post edited at 12:57
 Pids 18 Sep 2018
In reply to Reedie:

Not exactly the best time of year to be moving outside in Scotland!

When your at the wall next time try speaking to the folks on the lead walls, once you get to casual conversation etc steer conversation round to outside climbing - they may do it / know of folk who MAY be kind enough to take you out for a wee shot  - or point you in the direction of a local club who may take you out for a session at a local crag etc.

You dont "need" to go for "formal" coaching.

Have a look on the database within here for local clubs - try them?

https://www.ukclimbing.com/listings/?t=club

Good luck.

henwardian 18 Sep 2018
In reply to Reedie:

There are some facebook groups you could try:

Central Belt Trad Collective

North East Outcrops

Scottish Rock Climbing Partners

If you are on facebook that is.

Also, if you fill in your UKC profile with a mugshot and some info about yourself, you are more likely to get someone in this thread offering to take you outside.