UKC

Speed awareness products for the car?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 The Lemming 08 Nov 2018

What speed awareness products are out there to supplement the speedometer, and cruise control in my car?

This is not so that I can go above the limit, far from it as I drive for a living and I want to keep my licence.  There are an awful lot of cameras and pop-up vans out there.

jkarran 08 Nov 2018
In reply to The Lemming:

The last hire car I had was a Micra cruise and limit control options on the wheel, still manually set but rather useful. Apart from that it was utterly godawful in every other way, built by accountants doesn't begin to cover it.

Surely there must be a phone app to bollock you for speeding by now with all the online mapping available.

jk

Ian W 08 Nov 2018
In reply to The Lemming:

There's an app called Waze, which has an option to remind / warn whenever you exceed the limit, also has an interactive bit where users  can inform of accidents / roadworks / cameras. I dont use it much, but my boss, who lives in the south east, swears by it.

In reply to The Lemming:

A lot of cars have an adjustable alert if you go over a certain speed.

Set a friends one to 20mph and the language to Serbian...

In reply to Ian W:

I use it a lot - it's good but often drains phone battery faster than it can charge.

GridNorth 08 Nov 2018
In reply to The Lemming:

I have a Garmin Drive Smart 61 Sat Nav that gives audible and visual warnings that are programmable.  I bought it specifically for this reason as I got pulled up in Nant Peris for doing 34 in a 30 area and had to attend a speed awareness course

It can get a bit irritating after a while but it does help me keep to the limits.

Al

Post edited at 16:43
 arch 08 Nov 2018
In reply to The Lemming:

> What speed awareness products are out there to supplement the speedometer, and cruise control in my car?

The brake pedal ??

whenry 08 Nov 2018
In reply to The Lemming: