UKC

Which alpine winter / ski pack 45-55liters

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
Tobie 30 Nov 2018

Looking for recommendations for new 45-50 liter rucksack for winter use on longer ski tours and general mountaineering. I have been using Exped Mountain Pro 40 (first gen) for many years. I would like to try something more supportive and slightly bigger in volume. It should carry well. Or it is some lighter pack that is still comfortable and has system that won’t put all the weight on shoulders.

1. Separate pocket for avy gear would be great, but not mandatory.
  2. Lighter colors inside, dark interior is no-go
  3. Ski A-frame carrying straps mandatory
  4. Top lid with pocket(s) is mandatory

some prospects after an extensive internet search:

• Gregory alpinisto 50
  • Osprey Mutant 52
  • Mammut TrionPro 50+7
  • Exped Backcountry 55
  • Blue Ice Yeti 50
  • Bergans Helium Pro 55
  • Black Diamond Speed 50
  • Black Diamond Mission 55 (This has “Swing arm” system that might not be suitable for skiing)

Some lighter and/or smaller options, but hmm,.,, well, I don’t know (??)

• Mammut Trion Light 50
  • Patagonia Descensionist Pack 40
  • Mountain Equipment Tupilak 45

Any good ideas and points, experiences, pls

damowilk 30 Nov 2018
In reply to Tobie:

To the lighter options you could add the BD cirque 45, but you have to get the top lid as an add on extra.

I settled on it as close to my perfect ski touring bag as I could find. My ticklist was: light, sub 1kg, but still durable; 40-50l; decent A frame carry; top lid; pull out mesh helmet carry; 2 ice axe attachments; preferably seperate avi gear compartment.