UKC

Brits in France after Brexit

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 1234None 14 Jan 2019

I am wary of starting another Brexit thread which will doubtless descend into a "two camps" discussion/debate about the whole debacle, but here goes anyway...

I am a British citizen living in France.  I am employed here (since April 2018) and have just bought a house.  My wife is French, which is also a factor and we have just applied for  French passport for our daughter, who was born in the UK and has had a UK passport thus far.  I wasn't too worried about the effects of Brexit as until a few months ago I was fairly confident that some sort of deal would be struck between the UK and EU.  Now it looks like the likelihood of a "no-deal" Brexit is increasing (or at least I think so) I am wondering if anyone here can offer some input on what this might mean for people in my position.  I have done some reading around about a few possible scenarios, but I am no expert, so can anyone offer any insight as to where they think I will stand in the event of a no-deal exit from the EU and what bureaucratic hurdles (the French like them!) I may be forced to jump through to stay here.

I understand, perhaps wrongly, that I can't apply for a residency permit now as I haven't been here for 5 years.  Is there something else I could do now that might ease the bureaucratic burden if there's a crash out of the EU without a deal?

Post edited at 08:28
 steve taylor 14 Jan 2019
In reply to 1234None:

Check out the Remain in France Together (RIFT) website and Facebook page. They should give you some pointers. I'm sure you can apply for a Carte de Sejour straight away, through your local prefecture.

You also have a significant head start, with a French wife.

Good luck - we're in a similar situation down in Herault, but have to wait until I stop working in the Middle East before we apply for residency.

yorkshireman 14 Jan 2019
In reply to 1234None: