UKC

Progression to experienced alpine climber - tips?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
anonymous123 31 Jan 2019

I'd like to start doing some Alpine mountaineering this year, but currently have no Alpine experience. How do you progress from Scottish mountains to Alpine peaks? I neither want nor can I afford to rely on guides; in a few years time I'd like to be a capable, independent Alpinist.

How do you progress? Are guides essential to beginners? Are there any affordable Alpine courses in Europe? (I don't have ££££'s to spend). Is there an equivalent of camp 4 in the alps somewhere, where I could just turn up in my van and meet likeminded folks/equally incompetent fools? (I have some Scottish winter experience and have done some skills courses already).

Any advice appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Jellington 31 Jan 2019
In reply to anonymous123:

If you have some winter experience etc. I would mainly focus on glacier travel & crevasse rescue. For that I would consider a 1 day course just focussing on that. You could also practice at home with a mate (seilrolle and other pulley systems), on YouTube there's alot of great videos on it. Just don't go onto a glacier with less than 4 people on a rope and you should be fine if you know crevasse rescue. Stuff like the weather, planning etc. can't really be taught, it's just a process of gaining experience. Hope I helped. Cheers. 

anonymous123 31 Jan 2019
In reply to Jellington:

Thanks for the reply. I could sure afford that and would no doubt be unwise to skimp on such. 

Post edited at 17:22
 Mark Haward 31 Jan 2019

Probably four common routes:

1) Self taught perhaps with a buddy / friends. I would strongly recommend the book Alpine Mountaineering by Bruce Goodlad as a starting point.