UKC

Warmest Boots for Scottish Winter

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 Kyle Warlow 01 Feb 2019

Hi guys, 

I’ve been using a pair of Scarpa Phantom Ultras for the past 9 years and they’ve been great, except that the past two seasons I’ve noticed my feet becoming colder than I am comfortable with (f£&@ing freezing, infact). This could be due to boots just wearing out, but also due to health issues too. 

If you were in the market for boots, with warmth being a priority, where would you start? I was looking at the La Sportiva G2 SM’s, but wondering of that would be overkill. Anyone used them for Scottish Winter Grades V and upwards? 

Thanks for help, 

kyle. 

joe.91 01 Feb 2019
In reply to Kyle Warlow:

If you want a single boot hold on till next season when the new Scarpa Phantom Tech's will be coming out, details released next week at ISPO. Supposed to be warmer than current Guide's/Tech's and lighter too. 

The G2's are probably the best double boot for Scotland, the Phantom 6000's sole is too thin for Scotland it will wear out quickly I imagine like the previous version of the Phantom Tech.

TobyA 01 Feb 2019
In reply to Kyle Warlow:

Never been sold in the UK, but if you are on holiday somewhere or see a bargain on an EU webshop, the La Sportiva Baruntse are fiery warm and mine seem pretty hard wearing. Basically a double Nepal Extreme. The ankle is quite supportive compared to modern light boots, but I've happily climbed vertical ice in them in Norway and Finland. Mine haven't had much use since I moved back to the UK, but I did wear them during the beast from the East last winter on grade III/IV Welsh ice and ended up with ridiculously warm feet all day! I haven't, but happily would use them in Scotland in cold conditions.

In reply to Kyle Warlow: