UKC

is the only way to mastery through training?

This topic has been archived, and won't accept reply postings.
 French Erick 11 Feb 2019

From another thread, with an eminently sensible answer " get training".

Does anyone teach themselves nowadays? I accept that getting a course could potentially (but not necessarily):

1) avoid dangerous pitfalls

2) curtail the lenghty learning process (which I am not sure is that great?)

3) avoid bad habits and associated repetitive injury

I am a self taught skier/boarder/telemarker, climber (although partners taught me a lot), and canoist (WW). I think of myself as fairly competent (although very rusty with all the slidy stuff) and safe.

Have we, as a society, completely lost trust in ourselves in reaching mastery, or do we want the shortcuts or what?

I should add, this is me wondering. I'm thinking about getting a WW water safety course to see what "knowledge gap" I undoubtedly have.

Andy Hardy 11 Feb 2019
In reply to French Erick:

I think the answer to your question lies in the cash/time balance. To teach yourself to ski, you must have had plenty of time (not the typical 1 week a year most do). 

(I do sometimes wonder at threads on here from people asking about "multi pitch" climbing as if it were somehow massively more complex than climbing >1 pitch)

AlH 11 Feb 2019

Great question Erick. Lots of things to take account of. Learning needs to be effortful, if you go on a course and get spoon fed you have been done few real favours. A good coach will help create a good environment for you to learn rather than for them to teach if you see what i mean.

I'm self taught initially but now offer training for a job. I find many people are time poor and want to accelerate their learning or to get some confidence that what they are doing is "right" (there are lots of "right" ways to do things IMHO) or that they aren't missing something crucial out.